7 things to do if it rains

Don’t let rainy days ruin your summer! Here are some fun ways to keep the kids entertained and have a great day out, whatever the weather…

Go golfing


Put your putting skills to the test with a game of indoor mini golf! Set amid a tropical paradise, Paradise Island Adventure Golf (paradiseislandgolf.com) has courses in Glasgow, Livingston, Manchester and Sheffield, while Jungle Rumble’s (digitaldiner.co.uk) family friendly courses in Bristol and Liverpool feature special effects and a ‘live’ volcano. Alternatively, families can enjoy the new rainforest-inspired Treetop Adventure Golf (adventuregolf.com) at St David’s Shopping Centre in Cardiff, or have a prehistoric adventure at Volcano Falls in Yorkshire (volcanofalls.co.uk) or Jurassic Encounter (jurassicencounter.com) in Surrey.

Become an escape artist

Escape Room Pr

Crystal Maze style escape games are popping up all over the UK, and make for a great day out for adults and older children. At these fun-themed venues, teams are locked into a room filled with cryptic clues and puzzles they must solve to break out in a specified amount of time. While there are literally hundreds of venues to choose from, some Escape Game companies include Clue HQ (cluehq.co.uk), who operate in Warrington and Blackpool, Tick Tock Unlock (ticktockunlock.co.uk), who have venues in Leeds, Liverpool and Glasgow, and Escape Rooms (escaperooms.co.uk), which is located in London.

Get bouncing


Let the kids bounce off some energy with indoor trampolining. Oxygen Freejumping (oxygenfreejumping.co.uk) has indoor Trampoline Parks at a range of venues, including Southampton, London and Cheshire, where adults and children of all ages can enjoy a 60-minute bouncing session. The parks also offer special holiday camps throughout the summer for children aged 7-15. Alternatively, for something a bit different, take the family to visit Bounce Below (bouncebelow.net) at Blaenau Ffestiniog, to enjoy giant trampolines, walkways, slides and tunnels suspended in a slate cavern underground!

Make a splash


Give your day out a tropical feel (even if it’s pouring with rain outside!) with a trip to one of the UK’s top indoor water parks. Enjoy over 18 slides and attractions at Blackpool’s Sandcastle Waterpark (sandcastle-waterpark.co.uk), ride the Space Bowl and Twister at Stoke on Trent’s Waterworld (waterworld.co.uk), or enjoy the Lazy River, flumes and hot tubs at Pembrokeshire’s Blue Lagoon (bluelagoonwales.com).

See a show

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Brighten up your summer with a fantastic, family friendly show. Adaptations of many of the nation’s most-loved children books will be appearing at theatres across the UK this summer, including the musical Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (charlieandthechocolatefactory.com), which is playing at Theatre Royal Drury Lane throughout the summer; the stage production of The Railway Children (railwaychildrenlondon.com) at King’s Cross Theatre, London; and an adaptation of children’s favourite The Tiger Who Came To Tea, based on the picture book written and illustrated by Judith Kerr (thetigerwhocametotealive.com), which will be touring the UK from June.

Try a skydive


Get the adrenaline pumping by freefalling within a safe environment with Airkix Indoor Skydiving (airkix.com). Suitable for ages 4 and above, the UK’s first purpose-built wind tunnel provides an exhilarating indoor sky diving experience, while venues will even allow flyers to enjoy group flights together, for the perfect family day out. Airkix currently provide flights at three locations in Basingstoke, Milton Keynes and Manchester.

Get cultured


Museums are the perfect weather-proof way to have fun and learn something new. For something a little bit different the kids will love, try London’s interactive Science Museum (sciencemuseum.org.uk), Liverpool’s Underwater Street Discovery Centre (underwaterstreet.com), Oxford’s magical and inspiring Story Museum (storymuseum.org.uk), or the award-winning Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre (roalddahl.com/museum) in Buckinghamshire. London’s Horniman Museum (www.horniman.ac.uk) is also hosting a range of family events and activities over the summer, including A World of Summer Stories, featuring tales from some of the best storytellers in London, and Summer Family Art Fun.




Leave a Reply

Please login or register to leave a comment.

Please wait while we process your request.

Do not refresh or close your window at any time.